skip to primary navigationskip to content

Course Lecturers

Professor M Braithwaite (Cambridge)

martin.JPGMartin Braithwaite is currently a Visiting Professor of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College, London and an Academic visitor to the LSC group at the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge. He obtained his professional qualifications from Imperial College (BSc (Eng), 1971) and a PhD in physical chemistry from Cambridge (1974). After undertaking postdoctoral research (UBC, Canada: USC, California: JILA, Colorado) he worked for ICI as a company research associate for 20 years covering aspects of explosives performance and process safety. He held the William Penney chair of chemical physics at Cranfield university (2000-2006) and has had visiting chairs at TU Delft (Chemical Technology) and University of Queensland (Sustainable Minerals Institute). He has published widely on aspects of ideal and non-ideal detonation physics and chemical engineering safety and reaction kinetics and is author of over 50 papers on these and related topics.

Sam Falle - SAEGF (Leeds)


Professor J E Field, FRS (Cambridge)

john.jpgJohn Field is currently an Emeritus Professor of Applied Physics at the Cavendish Laboratory, Department of Physics, Cambridge. Prior to that, he was Professor of Applied Physics (1994 to 2003) and Deputy Head of Department (1995 to 2003). Research interests include high speed photography, optical techniques, the dynamic properties of materials, fracture growth, impact and erosion phenomena, reactivity of materials, explosive ignition and initiation and shock physics. He has always enjoyed collaborating with theoreticians and modellers. He has edited two books on the properties of diamond and has published over 350 papers. He was made FRS in 1994, and an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa in 2002. He has honorary doctorates at the University of Lulea, Sweden and Cranfield University. He was awarded the Duddell medal by the IOP in 1990, the John Rinehart Award by DYMAT in 2009 and made an Honorary QinetiQ Fellow also in 2009.


Dr N Nikiforakis (Cambridge)

nikos.jpgNikos Nikiforakis is the Head of the Laboratory for Scientific Computing (LabSC) at the Department of Physics (Cavendish Laboratory) and the Director for Academic Programmes of the Centre for Scientific Computing at the University of Cambridge. The Lab develops, implements and applies advanced numerical algorithms and computational methodologies for the solution of problems arising from scientific, technology and engineering applications. Researchers at LabSC are primarily engaged with the design of algorithms for multiscale and multiphysics problems described by nonlinear, inhomogeneous systems of partial differential equations. The implementations of the algorithms take advantage of current and next-generation massively parallel computational architectures. The group has c. 40 staff, PDRAs, PhDs, MPhils, as well as a number of long-term academic and industrial visitors. Nikos is a Fellow, College Teaching Officer and Director of Studies in Mathematics at Selwyn College, Cambridge.


Finn Ouchterlony - FO(Leoben)


Finn Ouchterlony is presently working at the dept of Mineral Resources and Petroleum Engineering at Montanuniversität Leoben in Austria. He was born 1943 and received his PhD in solid mechanics 1980 at the Royal Institute in Stockholm. His field of research includes fracture mechanics, rock fracture and fragmentation, rock blasting and blast damage. He has been head of Swedish blasting groups like the Swedish Detonic Research Foundation (SveDeFo) and the Swedish Blasting Research Centre (Swebrec) and professor of rock blasting at Luleå University of Technology. He has also been professor in rock blasting at the Yamaguchi University, Japan and at the Montanuniversität Leoben (MUL), Austria. In 2007 he received an honorary doctorate from the MUL. He reviews for Int J Rock Mech Mining Scis &  Rock Mechs Rock Engng and is a member of the international organizing committee of the International Symposia on Rock Fragmentation by Blasting.


Bill Proud - WGP (Imperial College, London)

BILL.jpgBill Proud's main research interest is into high strain rate properties of a wide range of materials, both inert and energetic. To do this a number of techniques are used: Drop-weight, Hopkinson Bar, Taylor Impact, Plate Impact. The development of novel high-speed diagnostics and analysis methods is a long-term area. He is particularly interested in those materials which show a strongly non-linear behaviour in response, porous, granular, biological or composite. Bill have strong research links to the Royal British Legion Centre for Blast Injury Studies and currently chairs the IOP Group 'Shock Wave and Extreme Conditions'. His research areas tend to be described as 'multi-disciplinary' generally on the areas involving Physics, Chemistry, Bio-sensors and Materials Science.

José Sanchidrián (Madrid)

jose.jpgMining Engineer, Ph.D. Explosives and blasting Chair Professor at the School of Mines, Technical University of Madrid. He served 7 years in the Spanish Army Corps of Engineers and 10 years in the explosives industry. Author of 4 books and more than 90 journal and conference  papers on explosives and blasting. His research topics are rock fragmentation, vibrations and explosion physics. President of the International Committee on Rock Fragmentation by Blasting (FRAGBLAST).